View the 2018 interactive bracket

Source: NCAA.com
Read Original Release

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced today the teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship. Ten conferences were awarded automatic-qualification. The four lowest automatic-qualification teams will compete in two opening round games. The remaining six automatic-qualification teams were placed in the bracket.

RELATED: View the 2018 interactive bracket | 2018 champ info | Buy NCAA champ tickets

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

America East Conference Albany (NY)
Atlantic Coast Conference North Carolina
Atlantic 10 Conference Saint Joseph’s
Big East Conference UConn
Big Ten Conference Maryland
Colonial Athletic Association William & Mary
The Ivy League Harvard
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth
Mid-American Conference Miami (OH)
Patriot League Boston U.

The remaining eight teams that were selected at-large are as follows: Duke, Iowa, Michigan, Penn State, Princeton, Rutgers, Virginia, and Wake Forest.

Opening round games will be played on two campus sites Nov. 7.  First- and second-round games will be played on four campus sites Nov. 9 and 11. Louisville will host the semifinals and final Friday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 18, at Trager Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky.  The semifinals and final will be streamed live on NCAA.com.  For ticket information, call 502-GOCARDS or visit NCAA.com/tickets.

In 2017, UConn finished the season undefeated (23-0) while claiming its fifth NCAA Division I field hockey championship.


View the 2018 interactive bracket 

Source: NCAA.com
Read Original Release

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced today the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

RELATED: View the 2018 interactive bracket | 2018 champ info | Buy NCAA champ tickets

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, Nov. 7. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, November 10 and 11.

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and final, Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 17 and 18, at Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim, Pennsylvania. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, Nov. 17, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, Nov. 18. Championship information, including information about tickets, is available here.

Seventeen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2018 championship. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 17 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott
Empire 8 Washington and Jefferson
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Saint Joesph’s (Maine)
Landmark Susquehanna
Liberty League Vassar
Little East Conference Keene State
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Fairleigh Dickinson, Florham
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletics Conference Smith
New Jersey Athletic Conference Rowan
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY New Paltz

The Pool B teams are:

Gwynedd Mercy, Rhodes College

The five Pool C teams are:

Franklin & Marshall, Montclair State, Rochester (New York), TCNJ, Tufts

The dates, sites and pairings are listed on the complete championship bracket, which is attached. For more information about the championship, log on to www.ncaa.com.

In 2017, Middlebury College defeated the defending champions, Messiah College 4-0 at Trager Stadium at the University of Louisville. It was Middlebury’s third national title.